May 19, 2010

2010 Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductees

2010 Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductees

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame Ceremony will be held during the Science Fiction Awards weekend June 25  - 27th in  Seattle, Washington.  The 2010 inductees are:

Roger Zelazny
 May 13, 1937 to June 14, 1995 

Hugo Award Winner in 1966 and 1968.    His works include:  Lord of Light, This ImmortalThe Chronicles of Amber, Jack of Shadows and many more.  "Roger Zelazny was one of the foremost writers of science fiction's New Wave movement, authoring short stories and novels packed with both psychological and mythological structures."

Douglas Trumbull
April 8, 1942

American Film Director and Special Effects Supervisor.  The 1968 film 2001 Space Odyssey "utilized Trumbull's own process of slit-scan photography to obtain the more abstract sequences. This groundbreaking technique contributed to the film's critical acclaim and established Trumbull as one of the top names in motion picture special effects."   He was also responsible for the special effects for science fiction films: Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977), Star Trek: The Motion Picture (1979), and Blade Runner (1982)

Richard Matheson
February 20, 1926

American author and screenwriter in fantasy, science fiction and horror.  He had several novels  adapted for film including  I am Legend.  The novel was adapted to film as The Last Man on Earth in 1964, as The Omega Man in 1971, and as I Am Legend in 2007.  "Matheson's publications and film work often explore themes of human existence facing alternate reality and incorporate the paranormal, terror, survival and ardor."

 Octavia E. Butler 
June 22, 1947 to February 2006

American science fiction author and won the Hugo Award for her short stories Speech Sound in 1984 and Bloodchild in 1985.  She wrote several novels including Kindred, The Patternists Series and Lilith's Brood.  She is "notable for being a female African American writer of science fiction—a rarity—but mainly she's notable as one of the most eminent science fiction writers overall."


  © Blogger template 'A Click Apart' by 2008

Back to TOP