November 29, 2009

Hugo Winners

The Hugo winners 

The Hugo Awards are awards for excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy and are awarded each year at the World Science Fiction convention.

"The Hugo Awards are named after Hugo Gernsback, a famous magazine editor who did much to bring science fiction to a wider audience. Gernsback founded Amazing Stories, the first major American SF magazine, in 1926. He is widely credited with sparking a boom in interest in written SF. In addition to having the Hugo Awards named after him he has been recognized as the “Father of Magazine SF” and has a crater on the Moon named after him."

2018 The Stone Sky - N.K. Jemisin 

2017 The Obelisk Gate -  N. K. Jemisin

2016 The Fifth Season - N.K. Jemisin

2015 The Three Body Problem - Cixin Liu

2014 Ancillary Justice - Ann Leckie

2013 Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas - John Scalzi

2012 Among Others - Jo Walton

2011 Blackout/All Clear - Connie Willis

2010 The City and The City - China Meivelle tied with The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi

2009 The Graveyard Book- Neil Gaiman

2008 The Yiddish Policemen’s Union - Michael Chabon

2007 Rainbows End - Vernor Vinge

2006 Spin - Robert Charles Wilson

2005 Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell - Susanna Clarke

2004 Paladin of Souls - Lois McMaster Bujold

2003 Hominids - Robert J. Sawyer

2002 American Gods - Neil Gaiman

2001 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire - J. K. Rowling

2000 A Deepness in the Sky - Vernor Vinge

1999 To Say Nothing of the Dog - Connie Willis

1998 Forever Peace - Joe Haldeman

1997 Blue Mars - Kim Stanley Robinson

1996 The Diamond Age - Neal Stephenson

1995 Mirror Dance - Lois McMaster Bujold

1994 Green Mars - Kim Stanley Robinson

1993 A tie between A Fire Upon the Deep - Vernor Vinge and Doomsday Book - Connie Willis

1992 Barrayar - Lois McMaster Bujold

1991 The Vor Game - Lois McMaster Bujold

1990 Hyperion - Dan Simmons

1989 Cyteen - C. J. Cherryh

1988 The Uplift War - David Brin

1987 Speaker for the Dead - Orson Scott Card

1986 Ender’s Game - Orson Scott Card

1985 Neuromancer - William Gibson

1984 Startide Rising - David Brin

1983 Foundation’s Edge - Isaac Asimov

1982 Downbelow Station - C. J. Cherryh

1981 The Snow Queen - Joan D. Vinge

1980 The Fountains of Paradise - Arthur C. Clarke

1979 Dreamsnake - Vonda N. McIntyre

1978 Gateway - Frederik Pohl

1977 Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang - Kate Wilhelm

1976 The Forever War - Joe Haldeman

1975 The Dispossessed - Ursula K. Le Guin

1974 Rendezvous With Rama - Arthur C. Clarke

1973 The Gods Themselves - Isaac Asimov

1972 To Your Scattered Bodies Go - Philip José Farmer

1971 Ringworld - Larry Niven

1970 The Left Hand of Darkness - Ursula K. Le Guin

1969 Stand on Zanzibar - John Brunner

1968 Lord of Light - Roger Zelazny

1967 The Moon is a Harsh Mistress - Robert A. Heinlein

1966 Tie between Dune - Frank Herbert and …And Call Me Conrad (alt: This Immortal) - Roger Zelazny

1965 The Wanderer - Fritz Leiber

1964 Here Gather the Stars (alt: Way Station) - Clifford D. Simak

1963 The Man in the High Castle - Philip K. Dick

1962 Stranger in a Strange Land - Robert A. Heinlein

1961 A Canticle for Leibowitz - Walter M. Miller, Jr

1960 Starship Troopers (alt: Starship Soldier) - Robert A. Heinlein

1959 A Case of Conscience - James Blish

1958 The Big Time - Fritz Leiber

1957 none

1956 Double Star - Robert A. Heinlein

1955 They’d Rather Be Right - Mark Clifton and Frank Riley

1954 Retro Award from 2004 Fahrenheit 451 - Ray Bradbury

1953 The Demolished Man - Alfred Bester

1952 none

1951 Retro Award from 2001 Farmer in the Sky - Robert A. Heinlein

1946 Retro Award from 1996 The Mule by Isaac Asimov

Links are for informational purposes only and not associated with Amazon affiliates.


Book Dragon Friday, December 11, 2009  

I just wanted to say thanks for listing the lists on your blog.

lartronics Wednesday, December 23, 2009  

For more information on Hugo Gernsback check out a new biography available on Amazon.

The document was found by me when we closed down Gernsback Publications in 2003. It was an old ms that I edited and produced as a book.

Follow the link and you can go to the book and thanks to Amazon’s “look inside” feature, you can even get an idea of what it covers.

Hope you find it interesting.

For more information feel free to contact me, Larry Steckler, at

  © Blogger template 'A Click Apart' by 2008

Back to TOP